FAQ – Debtor Education Course

Who is DMCC?

We are a non-profit agency that has been educating consumers for over 10 years.  We provide education and budget counseling to improve people’s financial literacy and assist in the management of their personal finances. We pride ourselves in the quality of education we provide.  We have conducted financial education seminars all over Florida; disseminate free educational materials and offer a free nationwide Financial Literacy Course.  

When should I take this course?

After you file for bankruptcy and before your debts are discharged.

I am married, does my spouse have to take this course too?

If your spouse is included in your bankruptcy case, then yes, your spouse will also need to complete the course.

Do I need an appointment to take this course?

No, an appointment is not necessary. You can register and take the course at your own pace, in the comfort of your home.  It is available online 24/7.

What is the purpose of this course?

Our goal is to provide you with educational information that will guide you in the right financial direction after you have completed your bankruptcy filing.

How long does the course take?

As required by law, you must spend at least two hours reading the material and answering the review questions.  Of course, you can take longer if you need to.  Our program will record your progress should you need to stop and continue at a later time.

Do I need to pass a test?

Our course is for learning purposes only. You cannot fail the review questions.

What educational information does the course cover?

You will learn how to develop a budget, manage your money, wise use of credit, insurance and mortgage issues, among other informative topics. 

When can I get my certificate?

We will send your certificate of completion directly to you and your attorney. We will mail it, fax it or email it within 1 business day.

How much do you charge and how do I pay?

Take the course with us and pay as little as $12.50 per person (joint filers). You do not need to pay before taking this course.  However, you must make a payment in order to receive your certificate.  We accept credit cards, PayPal, Money Orders and personal checks.

Is there another way to take this course?

We also offer an in-person course.  Call 1-888-777-0981 to make an appointment.

Does it matter where I live?

DMCC is approved for all jurisdictions except Alabama and North Carolina. If you live in either of these states, consult with your attorney for further information.